Al Turner Commitment to Excellence Award

Program OVERview

Awarded to individuals, parks or organizations that have through their consistent business and professional excellence provided leadership and/or fostered a sense of community in the World Waterpark Association membership. Find information on the nominations process and timing: More Info

Current Honoree

Below are the 2023 Award recipients.  Click the More info button to download a PDF with more details about the recipient. 

Johnny Blevins

Splash Kingdom Waterparks Inc.
Canton, Texas, U.S.A.

More info

Ken Handler

Global Management Amusement Professionals
Temecula, California, U.S.A.

More info

Sasha Mateer

Deep River Waterpark-Lake County Parks & Recreation
Crown Point, Indiana, U.S.A.

More info

Prior Years' Honorees

Find the list of previous award winners from 1992 to 2023 in a downloadable PDF format. This award, previously known as the Commitment to Excellence Award, was named in 2001 in honor of Al Turner who passed away that year.